Yay! My First Negative Comment

So I was about to respond to some comments, when I saw there were a few comments in my spam folder. It sucks when there are legitimate comments that end up there, but to my surprise, I found my first negative comment there too! I’ve been blogging for four months and have had only really supportive comments. I know my friend Girl Meets Debt has a great post, No Obnoxious Comment Required, on dealing with negative commenters, but I wanted to find out what others do?

This was in my spam folder for one of my recent Sunday Worship posts….odd as Sunday Worship’s primary purpose is to pimp out other bloggers and not talk about myself. Anyway, I deleted the comment, but I also think it is just kind of funny, so I thought I’d share. Having hate mail must mean I am getting popular!

“The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought you’d have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.”

Thanks Mr. Golf website dude! You made me laugh and inspired me to keep writing, just so I can annoy you. I am sorry you didn’t find value in my blog, but I don’t care. I guess I’m too busy looking for attention.

Carry on—

14 responses to “Yay! My First Negative Comment

  1. YES! They say you never forget your first true negative comment. 😉
    I’m just glad that you have such a sense of humor about it because I know that I use to let it bother me at first. Now I just hit delete and forget about it. It’s actually kinda ironic because after I published that no obnoxious comments required post, the negativity slowed down lots. I hope the same happens for you lady. 🙂

    • This one, while hurtful in the beginning, is really just kind of funny. It’s amazing how people spend so much effort on things they don’t like. It’s a well crafted, thought out comment–but if you don’t like reading, why not just stop and leave? I think it’s fascinating that in human nature we tend to obsess about the things we don’t like, instead of the things we do. Glad that your negative comments have gone down since that post! That’s awesome. You kept them in check 🙂

  2. Is it just me, or is it ironic that he’s whining and seeking attention by commenting about you whining and seeking attention? Good on you for letting it roll off your back :

    • Haha it is ironic! As I mentioned, I just think it’s silly to comment. I like to go by the rule, ‘if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all’…and of course, I am open to constructive criticism, but not pure hatred and bashing.

    • Yeah, I guess it didn’t hurt that bad because I don’t know this person, therefore have no emotional association with him. But if it was someone I respected, I would be hurt. I am open to feedback and constructive criticism, but not blogger bashing!

  3. Pingback: Link Love Done with April Edition | The Shop My Closet Project·

  4. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Yay! My First Negative Comment | Do or Debt .

Leave a Reply

